Slightly more consistent VC count interfaces
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Sat, 10 Aug 2013 00:21:10 +0000 (17:21 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Sat, 10 Aug 2013 00:24:59 +0000 (17:24 -0700)
The main concern was the size of size_t vs uint32_t.  We're still sloppy
about uint32_t vs int.

The kernel header still has max_vcores as a size_t.  I'll change that
next time I muck around in that part of the headers (I don't want to
force more toolchain rebuilds).

kern/include/ros/procinfo.h
user/parlib/include/vcore.h

index b618c4f..9b69de4 100644 (file)
@@ -42,7 +42,7 @@ struct pcore {
 typedef struct procinfo {
        pid_t pid;
        pid_t ppid;
-       size_t max_vcores;
+       size_t max_vcores;      /* TODO: change to a uint32_t */
        uint64_t tsc_freq;
        uint64_t timing_overhead;
        void *heap_bottom;
index 408f3c8..d09313d 100644 (file)
@@ -37,8 +37,8 @@ extern __thread int __vcoreid;
 extern __thread struct syscall __vcore_one_sysc;       /* see sys_change_vcore */
 
 /* Vcore API functions */
-static inline size_t max_vcores(void);
-static inline size_t num_vcores(void);
+static inline uint32_t max_vcores(void);
+static inline uint32_t num_vcores(void);
 static inline int vcore_id(void);
 static inline bool in_vcore_context(void);
 static inline bool in_multi_mode(void);
@@ -67,12 +67,12 @@ uint32_t get_vcoreid(void);
 bool check_vcoreid(const char *str, uint32_t vcoreid);
 
 /* Static inlines */
-static inline size_t max_vcores(void)
+static inline uint32_t max_vcores(void)
 {
        return MIN(__procinfo.max_vcores, MAX_VCORES);
 }
 
-static inline size_t num_vcores(void)
+static inline uint32_t num_vcores(void)
 {
        return __procinfo.num_vcores;
 }