VMM: Add commandline parameter to force use of TSC
authorGan Shun <ganshun@gmail.com>
Wed, 24 Aug 2016 23:34:38 +0000 (16:34 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Thu, 25 Aug 2016 03:23:39 +0000 (23:23 -0400)
The VM guest was turning off the TSC after using watchdog.
We tell it to use the tsc regardless. This is due to us not handling
the lapic timer properly.

Fixes: b/30568132

Signed-off-by: Gan Shun <ganshun@gmail.com>
Change-Id: I7640ee2578ac7fb1c63b60b46fc279f78172fa2d
Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
kern/kfs/master_linux_cmdline
kern/kfs/tinycore_cmdline
kern/kfs/vmimage_cmdline

index 17a9e06..0844bc9 100644 (file)
@@ -10,5 +10,6 @@ earlyprintk=vmcall,keep
  init=/bin/launcher
  lapic=notscdeadline
  lapictimerfreq=1000000
+ clocksource=tsc
  pit=none
  noinvpcid
index 10cfc14..ebc8faf 100644 (file)
@@ -9,6 +9,7 @@ earlyprintk=vmcall,keep
  nohlt
  lapic=notscdeadline
  lapictimerfreq=1000000
+ clocksource=tsc
  pit=none
  nortc
  nozswap
index b54cffa..093580a 100644 (file)
@@ -9,5 +9,6 @@ earlyprintk=vmcall,keep
  init=/bin/sh
  lapic=notscdeadline
  lapictimerfreq=1000000
+ clocksource=tsc
  pit=none
  root=/dev/vda1