Intercept CPUID calls to act like KVM
authorGan Shun <ganshun@gmail.com>
Wed, 1 Jun 2016 22:31:21 +0000 (15:31 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Thu, 2 Jun 2016 22:07:16 +0000 (18:07 -0400)
Intercept the CPUID vmexit to possibly either set the hypervisor bit or to
return the KVM signature depending on the value in RAX.

Signed-off-by: Gan Shun <ganshun@gmail.com>
Change-Id: Ic27e05eafa22b0a20a888397c8bae37ff0ea3267
Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
kern/arch/x86/trap.c

index 72d0c64..9ebe5a6 100644 (file)
@@ -685,7 +685,24 @@ static bool handle_vmexit_cpuid(struct vm_trapframe *tf)
 {
        uint32_t eax, ebx, ecx, edx;
 
-       cpuid(tf->tf_rax, tf->tf_rcx, &eax, &ebx, &ecx, &edx);
+       /* 0x4000000 is taken from Linux; it is not documented but it signals the
+        * use of KVM. */
+       if (tf->tf_rax == 0x40000000) {
+               /* Pretend to be KVM: Return the KVM signature by placing the following
+                * constants in RAX, RBX, RCX and RDX. RAX is set to 0, while RBX to
+                * RDX forms the string "KVMKVMKVMKVM\0\0\0". This can be placed in
+                * 0x100 offsets from 0x40000000 to 0x40010000. */
+               eax = 0;
+               ebx = 0x4b4d564b;
+               ecx = 0x564b4d56;
+               edx = 0x0000004d;
+       } else {
+               cpuid(tf->tf_rax, tf->tf_rcx, &eax, &ebx, &ecx, &edx);
+               if (tf->tf_rax == 1) {
+                       /* Set the hypervisor bit to let the guest know it is virtualized */
+                       ecx |= 1 << 31;
+               }
+       }
        tf->tf_rax = eax;
        tf->tf_rbx = ebx;
        tf->tf_rcx = ecx;