vmm: Provide a fast-path for IPIs in the kernel
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 18:27:55 +0000 (13:27 -0500)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 19:51:57 +0000 (14:51 -0500)
commitef39a1bbb55afb3e89f311e474cd8cb906cb49ca
tree6319f4ac6815602792103329d08568df0ceb2877
parentb4ad84a454f6532d0a7de910dce4bd97a26d1340
vmm: Provide a fast-path for IPIs in the kernel

Handling the IPI in userspace takes a couple usec.  If the target guest
pcore is loaded and running, such as when in greedy mode or under load, the
kernel can inject the IPI.

This helped perf bench pipe sched on tinycore in greedy mode, where the
guest was sending IPIs every 8-10 usec.

Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
kern/arch/x86/vmm/vmm.c
user/vmm/vmexit.c
user/vmm/vmm.c