vmm: Properly set CR4 SHADOW and GUEST_HOST_MASK registers.
authorRonald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
Wed, 8 Jun 2016 22:01:55 +0000 (15:01 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Thu, 9 Jun 2016 02:29:38 +0000 (22:29 -0400)
commitd15b5e3f467d98652eaaf2e39688236218d87d35
tree559e1f0c0d378063bd34a32e5128bb48b1ec0991
parent15bc690a05ea18da1b572bcedb49993e40a41980
vmm: Properly set CR4 SHADOW and GUEST_HOST_MASK registers.

Set the SHADOW register to 0, and set the GUEST_HOST_MASK
to CR4_VMXE. This ensures that the guest can set the
CR4_VMXE in its CR4 copy to 0, which Linux wants to do.
This eliminates the patch we used to need in Linux
in the early startup assembly code (head_64.S).

Change-Id: I8ee64a5485abef1b5c1d8b07a705f0642335a038
Signed-off-by: Ronald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/vmx.c