vmrunkernel: just pull the whole 128K smbios in at e0000
authorRonald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
Mon, 23 Jan 2017 21:59:58 +0000 (13:59 -0800)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Mon, 23 Jan 2017 22:43:52 +0000 (17:43 -0500)
commitbd43ed112be8a3e4cb64e61bbbfba7dfa1b492d3
tree16932f18fbad391f6bfe85dacdbb0e11a09e62e3
parent7afba53b2a1f652cd60c0d7a611b9b6f5f06b808
vmrunkernel: just pull the whole 128K smbios in at e0000

I love PCs. The SMBIOS spec certainly seems clear that it
lives at Fxxxx. But some have pointers to Exxxx. Now, we can
get all smart and try to read and rewrite SMBIOS tables and all
but ....

For now, let's be dumb. To get a flash image, on a working machine,
dd if=/dev/mem of=smbios bs=65536 count=2 skip=14

To run it:
vmrunkernel -t smbios etc. etc.etc

vmrunkernel will, given a -t argument, read the whole thing in
starting at e0000. We do not check for it being short: maybe
you have an SMBIOS that's just fine being 0x14000 bytes in size.
We should not presume to consider that an error.

Change-Id: I0626389b5f2f0bf407433c2dd0ccd5fa65888a43
Signed-off-by: Ronald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
tests/vmm/vmrunkernel.c