vmmcp: this should be the complete list of registers we need to autoload
authorRonald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
Tue, 16 Jun 2015 05:23:03 +0000 (22:23 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Mon, 22 Jun 2015 23:34:00 +0000 (16:34 -0700)
commit998621b9f1e2877354a005f63aeba196664c5a61
treef5a9adddd3eea1edda1be4df0ef4f13e4d3a83d2
parentc94cd0fc203198d533b7da31a69804eb20d35feb
vmmcp: this should be the complete list of registers we need to autoload

If we set FS_BASE and GS_BASE on autoload, vmmcpkernel causes
a vmware machine check. Why?

For LSTAR:
You have to disable intercept but also for this one do autoload.

If you don't disable intercept then the guest can not read or set it.
If you don't set autoload and the guest sets it, then this non-virtualized
register will probably kill your kernel.

Signed-off-by: Ronald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/vmx.c
tests/vmm/vmmcpkernel.c