Try out Dune vmm stuff.
authorRon Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
Sat, 7 Mar 2015 03:03:49 +0000 (19:03 -0800)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 17 Mar 2015 14:55:51 +0000 (10:55 -0400)
commit98510e09d3799446fac773390046d45f937ac80f
tree5a55da18123400c36d418acef4e8eccd1ed1cf31
parenta9c4de9bb86cd3f135a574656d7b74dfa294c3bf
Try out Dune vmm stuff.

This has been frustrating, finding a reasonably compact yet not awful bit of code
to use for akaros. They're either gigantic, featureful with stuff we don't want,
buggy as can be, or all three.

The Dune stuff seems a reasonably pared down subset of kvm and it's actually
pretty clean. Also, unlike every other bit of vmx code we've tried lately,
it actually seems to work, which is a bonus. And it will never run as a 1978 8086.

We actually start a VM at this point. And, it fails, and exits, *but akaros is not hurt*.
We just keep going.

This was imported, heavily edited, and retroactively committed.
(git-fu'd by brho)
kern/arch/x86/Kbuild
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/Kbuild [new file with mode: 0644]
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/compat.h [new file with mode: 0644]
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/cpufeature.h [new file with mode: 0644]
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/ept.c [new file with mode: 0644]
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/vmx.c [new file with mode: 0644]
kern/arch/x86/vmm/intel/vmx.h
kern/arch/x86/vmm/vmm.c
kern/arch/x86/vmm/vmm.h