MCS-PDR locks cache vcoreids
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 7 May 2013 22:25:33 +0000 (15:25 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 7 May 2013 22:28:13 +0000 (15:28 -0700)
commit964c631937f472b7f4ee65a7c876ada5a544df90
treebf460af7a42f7746c4d1971201c3531641efd1dd
parent24ee9d8e07d08cce5911a2a820ba785ef793b5c3
MCS-PDR locks cache vcoreids

We read-in the vcoreid of whoever we may need to spin on before
signalling.  This both cuts down on cache contention (less re-reading of
the pred's qnode to get the vcoreid) and gets rid of the restriction of
having qnode memory be safely accessed, even after unlocking.  Both
changes help with performance.
user/parlib/mcs.c