Replaces dev/random with newrandom
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Fri, 4 Oct 2013 17:05:44 +0000 (10:05 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Fri, 4 Oct 2013 17:18:55 +0000 (10:18 -0700)
commit7f63102c0697d591a84df1525379ea5d0a4d2496
treeb0c9960004949545fca3c36f7488b27c6eed4616
parentde670c6947cdb5a0c3d53a70fd2c367b954ac1ec
Replaces dev/random with newrandom

We had been using newrandom anyways, and it seems to do all the same
things that random.c did.  If we need the old random code, we can look
at this diff.

But they both suck.  Check this out.

(called trand 16 a bunch of times):

Read 16 bytes of random in 143 microseconds
fc6b364d 58b732b9 74c3eee5 508f6ad1
ec1ba67d 4867a2e9 64735e15 403fda01
dccb16ad 38171219 5423ce45 30ef4a31
cc7b86dd 28c78249 44d33e75 209fba61
bc2bf60d 1877f279 3483aea5 104f2a91
acdb663d 082762a9 24331ed5 00ff9ac1
9c8bd66d f8d7d2d9 14e38e05 f0af0af1
8c3b469d e8874209 0493fe35 e05f7a21
7cebb6cd d837b239 f4436e65 d00fea51
6c9b26fd c8e72269 e4f3de95 c0bf5a81
5c4b962d b8979299 d4a34ec5 b06fcab1

Every other nibble is constant.  The others decrease by a constant
amount every wave of 4 (or increase, depending on how you look at it).
So our RNG doesn't meet the rigorous standard of "Barret can't see a
pattern with just his eyes".
kern/drivers/dev/Kbuild
kern/drivers/dev/newrandom.c [deleted file]
kern/drivers/dev/random.c