Poor-man's ftrace has more context
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Wed, 30 Apr 2014 20:14:41 +0000 (13:14 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Wed, 30 Apr 2014 20:22:43 +0000 (13:22 -0700)
commit6c1b0107428248759254b78bc189e697dd549aa0
tree2d0943d3ddfe848228da9a5b0ff8dee6dbc258e3
parentf3c45252f6e0301f69911430370799498f3b0274
Poor-man's ftrace has more context

Will output whether we're in a process, IRQ, or ktask context.

Careful using this on certain devices in k/d/dev/, like acpi and console.  One
of the devs locks up if you try to print.

I usually turn off the 'print' bool in kdebug.c for booting, then turn it on
via 'kfunc toggle_print_func'.

To spatch the networking code, try something like:

$ for i in kern/src/net kern/drivers/net kern/drivers/dev/ether.c; do
spatch --sp-file scripts/spatch/poor-ftrace.cocci  --in-place $i; done
Documentation/howtos/poor-mans-ftrace.txt [new file with mode: 0644]
kern/src/kdebug.c