x86: Detect and handle missing perf support
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Wed, 16 Dec 2015 22:14:36 +0000 (17:14 -0500)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Wed, 16 Dec 2015 22:52:28 +0000 (17:52 -0500)
commit6577674d3c3c1e3ce19ff4e2e36e67c7b49543db
tree109a850e47c55ceb2a7ad430fc0f735b06abc6e3
parent8c9e8985be928fe286391676550211f73348b971
x86: Detect and handle missing perf support

If a machine has perf version 0, which is the case for my Qemu, we'll get a
GPF during initialization.  The per core initialization and any accesses to
the Qperf file will abort if we don't have the right version.

This assumes that if open of a Qperf fails, that there is no other way for
the user to trigger access to the perf MSRs.

Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
kern/arch/x86/devarch.c
kern/arch/x86/init.c
kern/arch/x86/perfmon.c
kern/arch/x86/perfmon.h
kern/arch/x86/smp_boot.c