Make set_errstr take a printf-like format
authorRonald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
Sun, 15 Sep 2013 21:08:34 +0000 (14:08 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Thu, 16 Jan 2014 01:59:33 +0000 (17:59 -0800)
commit4fd01d714d86c5b9d10aefa931c90220e58dd7e1
tree8dbb863f17ebe92d882161c8b40a4875fff5540e
parent1c5a0417482a17e65f05b12c1f15858026b95f36
Make set_errstr take a printf-like format

One of the things I really disliked about Plan 9 was that we
could return an errstr, and we only ever returned 52 errors
even though errstr was called in over 112 places. It gets
even more confusing if a program or library transforms the args:
what did the args look like precisely? Hard to say.

So on Plan 9 we get errors no more informative than errno. That's a very
low bar, to say the least.

This change allows for more useful error messages. We include an
example -- not a great one, but hey, it already cleared something
up for me.

Signed-off-by: Ronald G. Minnich <rminnich@gmail.com>
kern/include/syscall.h
kern/src/syscall.c