x86 serial input converts \r to \n
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Fri, 15 Nov 2013 00:57:31 +0000 (16:57 -0800)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Thu, 16 Jan 2014 19:38:23 +0000 (11:38 -0800)
commit4e97ad2024124c2628e203fa84e1b155ee3cb959
treed81aaa0c343bdd6cefe378ae514c8b730a041ef4
parente3cabd30d29c07b8628b1f684241d85f5879afac
x86 serial input converts \r to \n

This is probably part of an ongoing disconnect at the console level
between the kernel and userspace.

The serial port reads a \r for a newline (at least in qemu and in
minicom a while back).  Userspace in general can't handle that.  csquery
couldn't, and busybox also has issues (try rm on
/9/bin/somefile-that-exists, you'll hang on the "really remove this?"
query).
kern/arch/x86/console.c
kern/src/readline.c