Rewrite /ifconfig
authorDan Cross <crossd@gmail.com>
Wed, 11 May 2016 21:13:49 +0000 (17:13 -0400)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Fri, 13 May 2016 15:05:12 +0000 (11:05 -0400)
commit4c0c975ca86cee7cda02c548e472ad0be6cae11a
tree44c3c47a0f082684d66730586efa93524f621591
parent9771d7b4ea7236034f4e26124b4f9546530c7a33
Rewrite /ifconfig

Change /ifconfig so that it uses the ipconfig binary.
If /bin/ipconfig exists and the IP address of the machine
is known, use ipconfig to configure the interface with
the given IP address, gateway and netmask.

If /bin/ipconfig exists and the IP address of the machine
is NOT known, then run ipconfig and try to get a DHCP
lease.

If /bin/ipconfig does NOT exist and the IP address is known,
then configure the interface manually.

If /bin/ipconfig does not exist and the IP address is not known,
use a default configuration suitable for QEMU.

Use ipconfig for the loopback interface if it exists,
otherwise configure the loopback interface manually.

Also clean up the script in several ways:

1. Be consisent with quotes: use single quotes pretty
   uniformly throughout as opposed to a mixture of quotes
   and \-escaping #'s. Use double quotes when interpolating
   a variable into a string, of course.
2. Remove some old cruft and outdated comments.  It appeared
   that some of the comments dated from e.g. inferno or an
   earlier version of the system.
3. Move the 'default' configuration for network directly
   into /ifconfig.

Tested: Booting in various configurations.
Change-Id: I11aadb6f571c04c692d46a4794957245feb23d20

Signed-off-by: Dan Cross <crossd@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
kern/kfs/etc/network/default
kern/kfs/ifconfig