x86 console and readline() honor 0x7f
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 10 Apr 2012 21:02:10 +0000 (14:02 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 10 Apr 2012 23:19:54 +0000 (16:19 -0700)
commit4a7920f3390dea3108b57948a9f43cd66591d169
tree0e310d48c55866f86541587264920b1168bbe410
parent175edb0722856523e9cd1629334b8264604736c8
x86 console and readline() honor 0x7f

Qemu sends an 0x7f (DEL) via serial when you hit backspace, and readline
was ignoring it.  Not that readline matters much, but it'll now treat
the 0x7f like a backspace (\b, 0x8).

Note that \b and \x7f get sent directly to userspace, and it is up to
them to parse that.  This means that the KB (qemu and real world)
backspace is sending \b, real-world serial (at least my minicom) is
sending \b, but qemu serial sends \x7f.

Keymaps, terminal settings, and what programs expect are all huge pains
in the ass.
kern/arch/i686/console.c
kern/src/readline.c