__nlink_t is 64 bits in stat struct, not 32
authorKevin Klues <klueska@cs.berkeley.edu>
Sat, 17 Jan 2015 18:28:56 +0000 (10:28 -0800)
committerKevin Klues <klueska@cs.berkeley.edu>
Sat, 17 Jan 2015 18:30:17 +0000 (10:30 -0800)
commit4a3d5fb9adf39890155253dc3a53a1862b04a821
tree9d8ec7805830c25acbbf0ebc719d626f0d3be3d5
parent12796b0008404c8192d09eab4824023c4a82fd14
__nlink_t is 64 bits in stat struct, not 32

Looking at the changelog, it's been this way since 2000.

From glibc-2.19/Changelog.11
2000-06-16  Jes Sorensen  <jes@linuxcare.com>
    ...
    * sysdeps/unix/sysv/linux/ia64/bits/types.h: Make __ino_t,
    __nlink_t and __blkcnt_t 64 bit to accomodate new kernel stat data
    structure.
    ...

My hunch is that things got reorganized such that previously the
default typedef for __nlink_t was 32 bits, while a linux specific one
was 64 bit.  It appears they have now made the default one 64 bit as
well.
kern/include/sys/types.h