Fixed issues with the RealTek network driver and the slab allocator
authorPaul Pearce <pearce@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 12 Jan 2010 01:14:13 +0000 (20:14 -0500)
committerPaul Pearce <pearce@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 12 Jan 2010 01:24:22 +0000 (20:24 -0500)
commit4070bd94e8b973c135cfdc3310a2cf81c1b55ebd
tree524940d1b9771b0ea35d8f2ff9064e20000bf93e
parent3635991123426a96ff4c133e7774385eb9ee9ac0
Fixed issues with the RealTek network driver and the slab allocator

Previously the RealTek network driver would use kmalloc for allocating
the RX and TX descriptor rings. A requirement of the rings was that
they be 256 byte alligned. We had previously discussed this, and
determined that by default kmalloc would, if asked for X bytes, return
X byte aligned memory. This is no longer the case with the new
slab allocator, so the driver no longer functioned correctly

We now directly request pages, to ensure proper alignment.
kern/arch/i386/rl8168.c