Use compressed kernel images for QEMU and USB
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 28 Jul 2015 14:13:32 +0000 (10:13 -0400)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Wed, 29 Jul 2015 13:04:37 +0000 (09:04 -0400)
commit3dd9d96685352fd83656681098c8ea75073998e1
tree155f00cf7e4b323db3645211e8e43bdfcd636b1c
parent9f5d0d1d1d6e234ff4761b299eee01efeab473d5
Use compressed kernel images for QEMU and USB

Compressing the kernel will improve the boot time for VMs.  On more
recent versions of QEMU (2.3.0) on one of my machines, qemu took nearly
2 minutes to boot a 75MB kernel image (including KFS, etc).  Compressing
it down to 20MB decreased the time to about 10 seconds.  Well worth it,
considering the compression is fast.

I don't know if the boot time on hardware improves by using a compressed
kernel image, but it does speed up the transfer to the USB device.

All of these settings are optional.  The Makelocal.template is just a
suggestion.  I recommend you follow the suggestion.
Makelocal.template
tools/bootable-usb/make-bootable-usb.sh