x86: Initialize the PAT MSR
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Fri, 11 Mar 2016 19:33:14 +0000 (14:33 -0500)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Fri, 11 Mar 2016 21:40:48 +0000 (16:40 -0500)
commit39376ead969c2c8a311be88fd673aeac799159b2
tree257ebd2610c61979f95cb039329d5d97c6d13f87
parent5b2e4b740b9ef5385afeee3b2d02516a5d008706
x86: Initialize the PAT MSR

This sets up PAT so we can have WB, WC, WT, and UC- memory types via the
__PTE flags.  The PCD and PWT bits don't necessarily disable caching or set
write-through anymore; they are indexes into the PAT table.  (This was
always happening btw, since anything we run on has PAT support).

Signed-off-by: Barret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
kern/arch/x86/cpuinfo.c
kern/arch/x86/pmap.c