Remove the need for a poke_pvcalarm function
authorKevin Klues <klueska@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 3 Jun 2014 01:39:20 +0000 (18:39 -0700)
committerKevin Klues <klueska@cs.berkeley.edu>
Tue, 3 Jun 2014 01:41:53 +0000 (18:41 -0700)
commit2a81b4f7ac6cc9fb455f19f6809dd5f0ac6c52b2
tree4f11927ce212682056c7a507ff41ddd4e2e20532
parent2f95e0ea4c1c57e9e79baadb2557a6157114a239
Remove the need for a poke_pvcalarm function

We wanted a way to avoid having to add the poke function to every
vcore_entry() so that they could take care of initializing their own
pvcalarm upon the first time they come up, and then starting it on
subsequent times if it happened to be disabled.  To do this we now just
preemptively initialize max_vcore() number of alarms (one for each
vcore) and start them / stop them upon enable/disable of the service.

Removes alot of complexity for very little extra overhead -- especially
on machines with a small number of max_vcores().
user/benchutil/include/pvcalarm.h
user/benchutil/pvcalarm.c
user/utest/pvcalarm.c