x86: fast core_id() option
authorBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Thu, 18 Jul 2013 23:42:11 +0000 (16:42 -0700)
committerBarret Rhoden <brho@cs.berkeley.edu>
Fri, 19 Jul 2013 23:56:42 +0000 (16:56 -0700)
commit297ae036eba01316a1c62c3e8ffb5952fcfbcc1e
tree550e5f1513c15f0c6aa01d980ff08632908503cc
parent1b90ca66775f8d1ff992c37978eee3639020fcef
x86: fast core_id() option

Implements core_id() with rdtscp.  VM support for rdtscp can be a bit
spotty.  If you want to run with this, try it once without, and see if
the kernel detects support for rdtscp (in the bootup output).  If so,
you're good to go.
kern/arch/x86/Kconfig
kern/arch/x86/arch.h
kern/arch/x86/cpuinfo.c
kern/arch/x86/smp_boot.c
kern/arch/x86/x86.h